Ridge Presbyterian Church traces
its origin to about the year 1747 when a group of Scottish Irish
settlers, firm believers in their Protestant faith and education,
established a church at the junction of Muddy Creek and Scot's Run, not
far from what is now the Village of Bryansville, PA. Members of this
Log Church in the Barrens walked, rode horseback or came in wagons,
buggies, or carriages from a wide area of southern Pennsylvania and
northern Maryland. In approximately 1750 this group became organized as
Slate Ridge Presbyterian Church, with Reverend Eleazer Whittlesey as
their pastor. As membership increased and distance became a problem
other Presbyterian churches were established -- Chanceford 1751; New
Harmony 1849; Slateville 1849; Pine Grove 1857; and Highland 1890.
These five consider Slate Ridge as their mother church.
When the Log Church of the Barrens burned, a second building was
erected three miles farther south in Maryland. The third, fourth, and
fifth buildings were located in or near Slate Ridge Cemetery in Delta,
PA. In September 1893, the cornerstone for the present building in
Cardiff, MD was laid.
From 1750 to 1951 a total of eleven ministers were installed at Slate
Ridge, with two of these serving over forty years. Since 1951 nine
ministers have pastored the congregation, with Reverend Carletta R.
Curley as the present minister. Several Slate Ridge members are
descendants of the earlier ministers.
Slate Ridge contributes directly to local causes and through the
Donegal Presbytery, Synod, and General Assembly helps with benevolent
work throughout the world.
Through many years of political, social and technological change, Slate
Ridge continues to stand as a testimony to the faith of the early
settlers, and the courage and hope of all who have followed their
example of Christian belief and worship.
Log Church In The Barrens was
established in 1747
For more information about
Slate Ridge contact